Alonso's squad takes third WEC win in Sebring


Matthew Scott

Alonso's squad takes third WEC win in Sebring

The #8 Toyota Gazoo Racing crew of Fernando Alonso, Kazuki Nakajima and Sebastien Buemi took their third victory of the 2018-19 World Endurance Championship campaign – and first in four races by lasting the pace at the 1000 Miles of Sebring.

Victory was in the bag from an early stage when the sister Toyota, their only real LMP1 rivals, crashed and sustained damage that required a lengthy pit-stop and allowed Buemi to open up a lead of several laps.

Alonso had put them on course with a pole lap quicker than anything before seen at the Sebring International Raceway.

The race ended in low-key fashion as heavy rain fell in Florida.

Loid Duval crashed the #28 TDS Racing LMP2 car, bringing out a safety car period with just over 10 minutes remaining on the clock.

The damage could not be cleared away before the chequered flag fell, securing victory for the #8 car, which now leads the championship by 15 points with 50 on offer across the final two races – at Spa-Francorchamps and Le Mans.

Ontdek het op Google Play