Welcome to GPFans


  • NL
  • GB
  • FR
  • ES-MX
  • GB
Mercedes add to records as F1 provided with last-gasp drama

Mercedes add to records as F1 provided with last-gasp drama

F1 News

Mercedes add to records as F1 provided with last-gasp drama

Mercedes add to records as F1 provided with last-gasp drama

What a dramatic conclusion to the 2021 season F1 that was, with Max Verstappen taking his maiden world championship with a last-lap move on Lewis Hamilton.

The controversial undertones from the campaign filtered through until the very last moments, with Verstappen making the most of confusion behind a late safety car to overcome his rival.

After a fascinating weekend, here are the best stats and facts from the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix.

Mercedes' history despite heartache

Despite missing out on the double, Mercedes took its eighth-successive constructors' championship, a record in F1.

Hamilton also took the team's 250th front-row start in the sport with second on the grid.

Last-gasp drama

For only the second time in 10 years, the race was decided by a last-lap overtake.

The previous occasion was when Nico Rosberg and Hamilton came together on the final lap of the 2016 Austrian Grand Prix, with the Briton going on to take the chequered flag.

2005 parallels

In an eerie reflection of 2005, a 24-year-old took their first world title by bringing an end to the reign of a seven-time world champion who was born in January.

Max Verstappen and Fernando Alonso both achieved this, whilst also becoming the first drivers from their respective countries to become champion.

The importance of pole

Verstappen's last-gasp victory continued the streak of every polesitter winning the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix since 2015.

In 2014, Rosberg was on pole but the race was won by Hamilton.

Hamilton and Bottas end with milestone

Hamilton and Bottas ended their time as team-mates with their 100th start together.

Only one duo has begun more races than the Mercedes pair, with Michael Schumacher and Rubens Barrichello starting 104 grands prix together.

Ferrari's barren run

Despite an improved season from the Scuderia, Ferrari has had two consecutive winless seasons in F1 for the first time since 1992 and 1993.

The team did, however, take two pole positions and Carlos Sainz finished best of the rest in the drivers' standings.

AlphaTauri history makers

Despite being involved in F1 as Minardi, Toro Rosso and AlphaTauri, Yuki Tsunoda and Pierre Gasly - by finishing fourth and fifth - delivered team Faenza's first double top-five finish in the sport.

Stroll 100 not out

Lance Stroll participated in his 100th F1 race, becoming the second Candian to reach the milestone after Jacques Villeneuve.

Incredibly, only 73 other drivers have reached a ton of races in F1.

Ontdek het op Google Play