Welcome to GPFans

CHOOSE YOUR COUNTRY

  • NL
  • GB
  • GB
Download
×
GPFans Global app
Download the app!
Everything F1 in one place!
FIA clarifies Gasly penalty after Alonso collision

FIA clarifies Gasly penalty after Alonso collision

F1 News

2 comments

FIA clarifies Gasly penalty after Alonso collision

FIA clarifies Gasly penalty after Alonso collision

FIA race director Michael Masi has explained the penalty given to Pierre Gasly for contact with Fernando Alonso at the start of the Turkish Grand Prix.

The AlphaTauri driver was given a five-second penalty for tipping Alonso into a spin at turn one, despite it looking as though Sergio Perez had been down the inside of Gasly and forced the Frenchman wide.

Providing insight into the decision made by the race stewards, Masi pointed to a change in philosophy at the start of the season regarding first lap incidents.

"Having had a look at it, and one of the things if we go back to the start of the year, is that following discussions with the drivers and teams, we had to ratchet back the 'let them race' principals in general," said Masi.

"One of them was first lap incidents in general and that if a driver was wholly to blame for an incident then it would likely result in a penalty.

"That one there, the stewards determined Pierre was wholly to blame for the incident and as a result, a five-second penalty was imposed."

Masi explains difference between Alonso-Gasly and Hamilton-Verstappen

Throughout the season there have been numerous close calls and banging of wheels in the first corners of grands prix, including multiple instances between Max Verstappen and Lewis Hamilton.

Explaining why none have resulted in penalties like Gasly was handed, Masi considered: "If you look, it is one of those wholly or predominantly, under our regulations.

"We have said, for ease of interpretation for everyone's benefit, is that if someone is wholly to blame on lap one, that will result in a penalty.

"If it takes two to tango and someone is predominantly, then it would likely, on lap one, not result in a penalty, or if there is more than the two cars involved.

"But if it is quite clear there are two cars, one had done it then a penalty would happen."

What do you think?
MrDee

Gasly was sandwiched; where did he had to go?

1 0

Comments (2)

You must be logged in to post comments.

Log in
 

Write a comment

Comments (2)

Gravatar
Senior
MrDee
Gravatar
111
707
294
Jun 2021
First Poster
MrDee

Gasly was sandwiched; where did he had to go?

Gravatar
Amateur
Martin
Gravatar
2
0
0
Aug 2020
Martin

If they have become part of the rule book, why are the Stewards Guidelines/explanations not published?

Why is a FIA Director explaining a an independent Stewards decision?

Why was the original SD reviewed and changed?

Ontdek het op Google Play