Welcome to GPFans


  • NL
  • GB
  • FR
  • ES-MX
  • GB
Mohammed Ben Sulayem elected new FIA president

Mohammed Ben Sulayem elected new FIA president

Mohammed Ben Sulayem elected new FIA president

Mohammed Ben Sulayem elected new FIA president

Mohammed Ben Sulayem has been elected as the new president of the FIA, succeeding Jean Todt whose 12-year reign has come to an end.

Ben Sulayem is a 14-time FIA Middle East Rally Champion, winning 61 international events overall as a driver during a career that ran from 1983 through to 2002.

Born in the UAE, the 60-year-old has served as vice-president for sport for the Middle East for the last 13 years, during which time he has also been a member of the World Motor Sport Council.

Ben Sulayem recorded a comfortable 62% of the vote of the FIA General Assembly, the supreme decision-making arm of the governing body that comprises automobile and touring clubs and national sporting authorities that represent the 245 member organisations.

Ben Sulayem beat Graham Stoker, a barrister who has served as Todt's right-hand man as deputy president since 2009. He becomes the first non-European president of the FIA.

Todt, who succeeded Max Mosley in 2009, was unable to stand for re-election after serving the mandated three terms in office.

The former Ferrari team principal has been linked with a return to the Scuderia as a consultant.

A tweet from Ben Sulayem under his 'FIA for Members' banner read: "The votes are in and we've won!

"We are thrilled that 62% of all clubs have given us their vote. We are truly humbled. The support from you will help us build a stronger federation."

Serving as part of Ben Sulayem's administration will be Fabiana Ecclestone, wife of former F1 supremo Bernie, who will work as vice-president for sport in South America.

These are the key positions taken up on Ben Sulayem's administration:

Carmelo Sanz de Barros [president of the Senate]

Robert Reid [deputy president for sport]

Tim Shearman [deputy president for mobility]

Abdulla Al Khalifa [vice-president for sport - Middle East]

Rodrigo Ferreira Rocha [vice-president for sport - Africa]

Daniel Coen [vice-president for sport - North America]

Fabiana Ecclestone [vice-president for sport - South America]

Lung-Nien Lee [vice-president for sport - Asia-Pacific]

Anna Nordkvist - [vice-president for sport - Europe]

Manuel Aviñó [vice-president for sport - Europe]

Ontdek het op Google Play