Welcome to GPFans

CHOOSE YOUR COUNTRY

  • NL
  • GB
  • GB
Download
×
GPFans Global app
Download the app!
Everything F1 in one place!
FIA to review "pros and cons" of IndyCar red-flag qualifying rule

FIA to review "pros and cons" of IndyCar red-flag qualifying rule

F1 News

FIA to review "pros and cons" of IndyCar red-flag qualifying rule

FIA to review "pros and cons" of IndyCar red-flag qualifying rule

FIA race director Michael Masi has confirmed "the pros and cons" of whether F1 will adopt IndyCar's red-flag qualifying rule are to be debated in due course.

Charles Leclerc's crash in qualifying during the recent Monaco Grand Prix has thrown a spotlight on the topic.

The Monégasque clinched pole position with his time from his first flying lap in Q3 before then bringing the session to a halt with a shunt into a barrier in the final sector on his second outing.

At that stage, Red Bull's Max Verstappen and Valtteri Bottas in his Mercedes were both on quick laps that could have deposed Leclerc from the top spot on the grid.

In IndyCar, its regulations make clear if a driver brings out the red flags, that driver's best two timed laps in that part of qualifying will be disallowed.

Masi feels a driver crashing may be punishment enough.

"It will be discussed between F1, the FIA and all of the team representatives in a sporting advisory committee meeting," said Masi.

"We will go through and look at the pros and cons and unintended consequences, and also, is it a real issue we want to deal with in F1.

"Or is it something that we consider that what occurs with red flags during qualifying that you've effectively served your penalty by having an accident, and not being able to do anything further?

"There are lots of considerations but between us all, we will have a look at everything, and if it's deemed necessary or not, will be determined in due course."

Masi has revealed to having previous experience of the rule during his time as race director of the V8 Supercars in Australia.

Asked whether he had used the rule in any other championship, he replied: "Yes, I have, for different reasons.

"When I was in Australia, that was used in my days with the Australian Supercars series, which, more particularly, came about for different purposes."

Comments

No comments have been posted yet.
You must be logged in to post comments.

Login
 

Write a comment

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first!
Ontdek het op Google Play