Welcome to GPFans

CHOOSE YOUR COUNTRY

  • NL
  • GB
  • GB
Download
×
GPFans Global app
Download the app!
Everything F1 in one place!
F1 to respect Prince Philip funeral with Imola schedule change

F1 to respect Prince Philip funeral with Imola schedule change

F1 News

F1 to respect Prince Philip funeral with Imola schedule change

F1 to respect Prince Philip funeral with Imola schedule change

Formula 1 has confirmed it will respect the funeral of Prince Philip by altering its schedule for the Emilia Romagna Grand Prix at Imola.

The Duke of Edinburgh died at the age of 99 on Friday. His funeral is to be held at St George's Chapel, Windsor, at 3pm on Saturday, 17 April.

Qualifying for the race at the Autodromo Enzo e Dino Ferrari was due to conclude at 3pm UK [4pm CET], but to avoid being on track during the service, F1 has decided the session will now move to 1-2pm UK [2-3pm CET].

This means final practice also moves back one hour and will run from 10am-11am UK [11am-noon CET] in order to comply with the regulations that state qualifying must be 120 minutes after FP3.

On Friday FP2 will move to 1.30-2.30pm UK [2.30-3.30pm CET] and FP1 to 10am-11am UK [11am-noon CET] due to the rules requiring those sessions to be separated by at least two and a half hours, and FP3 needing to start no less than 19 hours after the end of FP2.

F1 is the latest sport to show respect to Prince Philip as across the UK, the Premier League, the English Football League, Premiership Rugby and British Horseracing have all adjusted their schedules to avoid a clash.

There will be a minute's silence ahead of qualifying as an opportunity for people to show their respects.

Comments

No comments have been posted yet.
You must be logged in to post comments.

Login
 

Write a comment

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first!
Ontdek het op Google Play