Welcome to GPFans


  • NL
  • GB
  • FR
  • ES-MX
  • GB
F1 Driver of the Day: Who won so far in 2022 and how to vote

F1 Driver of the Day: Who won so far in 2022 and how to vote

F1 Driver of the Day: Who won so far in 2022 and how to vote

F1 Driver of the Day: Who won so far in 2022 and how to vote

F1 Driver of the Day provides a sub-plot to the latter stages of every single grand prix as fans get the chance to vote on the award.

Launched back in 2016, Driver of the Day is an official F1 award which creates much debate.

Remember, this is not about who wins the race or who has the fastest car. It’s the driver who has performed the best given the challenges he has faced on any given Sunday.

Who won F1 Driver of the Day in 2022?

Red Bull's Max Verstappen may have eight grand prix victories so far this year, and he may be 80 points clear in the championship standings, but that hasn’t translated into Driver of the Day awards.

The Dutchman has won it just three times - in Imola, Miami and now at the Hungaroring. His brilliant drive from 10th to an unlikely victory in Hungary netted him 34.2% of the votes - more than double his nearest rival Lewis Hamilton.

Despite those wins though, Verstappen is still behind Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc in terms of Driver of the Day awards in 2022. The Monegasque has claimed the honour four times this season.

Twice this season fans believe seven-time world champion Hamilton massively outperformed expectations as he took the award in Spain and Azerbaijan. The latter, of course when he was racked by back pain thanks to the porpoising affecting his W13.

Red Bull’s Sergio Perez has also claimed two awards in 2022, for his victory in Monaco and then a fantastic late dash to second place in the British Grand Prix.

Haas star Mick Schumacher claimed the prize for the first time after the Austrian Grand Prix for a brilliant drive into sixth place. Carlos Sainz of Ferrari meanwhile won it at the French GP for a super drive from 19th on the grid to P5.

Here is the 2022 roll of honour so far after the Hungarian Grand Prix:

RaceDriver of the DayFinishing PositionVotes
Bahrain GPCharles Leclerc128.3%
Saudi Arabian GPCharles Leclerc226.8%
Australian GPCharles Leclerc119.7%
Emilio Romagna GPMax Verstappen114.7%
Miami GPMax Verstappen118%
Spanish GPLewis Hamilton522.8%
Monaco GPSergio Perez127.6%
Azerbaijan GPLewis Hamilton414.8%
Canadian GPCharles Leclerc521.6%
British GPSergio Perez220.7%
Austrian GPMick Schumacher624.5%
French GPCarlos Sainz540%
Hungarian GPMax Verstappen134.2%

How is F1 Driver of the Day chosen?

As we said, this is all about the F1 fans getting a chance to decide the award during every single race.

Voting opens during the latter stages of each race and closes when the race ends.

How to vote for Driver of the Day

It’s incredibly simple to get involved. You just need to go to the voting page on the official F1 website and cast your vote once the window opens.

Your next opportunity is the Belgian Grand Prix on Sunday July 28.

What is the prize for Driver of the Day?

Drivers do receive a trophy but there is no financial incentive.

Ontdek het op Google Play