Welcome to GPFans


  • NL
  • GB
GPFans Global app
Download the app!
Everything F1 in one place!
Alonso wins third world title in Le Mans

Alonso wins third world title in Le Mans



Alonso wins third world title in Le Mans

Alonso wins third world title in Le Mans

Fernando Alonso was crowned FIA world champion for a third time on Sunday as his #8 Toyota crew won the Le Mans 24 Hours for a second time to secure World Endurance Championship glory. The sister Toyota crew had led for much of the race, but a puncture with a little over an hour to go cost them.

Alonso, Kazuki Nakajima and Sebastien Buemi also won in Le Mans 12 months ago, handing the double world champion in F1 his second leg of the 'Triple Crown'.

He was unable to complete the job in Indianapolis this year as he failed to qualify for the Indy 500 racing for McLaren.

However, he was back on the top step in Le Mans just three weeks later after a thrilling encounter in the flagship race of endurance racing.

The #8 crew would have won the title had they finished second, but victory capped off the achievement in style.

The #7 Toyota team of Mike Conway, Kamui Kobayashi and Jose Maria Lopez had to settle for second place for the second year running in Le Mans, as their last lingering title hopes went up in smoke.

The Japanese driver secures his first world championship with the success, while Buemi is crowned world champion for a second time, having won Formula E in 2015-16.

As well as last year's Le Mans, the #8 team also won in Spa-Francorchamps twice, as well as Sebring, while a victory at Silverstone was also chalked off as both Toyota cars were excluded on that occasion.


There are no comments yet.

Sun 05 Jul

Sat 04 Jul

Ontdek het op Google Play