Welcome to GPFans

CHOOSE YOUR COUNTRY

  • NL
  • GB
  • FR
  • ES-MX
  • GB
F1 mourns death of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II

F1 mourns death of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II

F1 mourns death of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II

F1 mourns death of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II

F1 has expressed its "deepest condolences" following the death of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II.

Just after 6.30pm UK time [7.30PM CET; 1.30pm EDT], Buckingham Palace confirmed the Queen "died peacefully at Balmoral this afternoon".

She was 96 and had ruled for 70 years.

In response, F1 CEO Stefano Domenicali issued a statement that read: "Formula 1 mourns the passing of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II.

"For more than seven decades she dedicated her life to public service with dignity and devotion and inspired so many around the world.

"Formula 1 sends its deepest condolences to the Royal Family and to the people of the United Kingdom and the Commonwealth."

It is understood F1, the teams and drivers will hold a minute's silence before the first practice session for the Italian Grand Prix at Monza on Friday.

The teams also expressed their grief via social media.

Ontdek het op Google Play