When is the Mexican Grand Prix? Qualifying, start time, most wins

Friday, 26 october 2018, 04:00 , by Matthew Scott

Lewis Hamilton was made to wait to get his hands on world title number five in the USA, but a seventh-place finish in the Mexican Grand Prix will do the business for the Mercedes man, regardless of title rival Sebastian Vettel's efforts.

WHEN IS THE MEXICAN GRAND PRIX?

The Mexican Grand Prix will be held on Sunday October 28 at the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez, Mexico City. The race will start at 13:10 local time (19:10 GMT, 15:10 ET) - American fans, be aware that Mexican daylight savings will affect the time difference on race day. UK fans' clocks will also go back so the change won't be felt.

On-track action begins with Friday's first practice session at 10:00 local time (16:00 BST, 11:00 ET), with the second session starting at 14:00 local time (20:00 BST, 15:00 ET)

Saturday's qualifying session starts at 13:00 local time (19:00 BST, 14:00 ET), following on from the third practice session, which starts at 10:00 local time (16:00 BST, 11:00 ET).

WHO LEADS THE F1 STANDINGS?

The United States GP might not have gone Hamilton's way, but he still extended his championship lead over Vettel to 70 points, moving onto 346 points to the German's 276. Kimi Raikkonen's (221) COTA win puts him back ahead of Valtteri Bottas (217), as well as closing the gap between Ferrari (497) and Mercedes (563) in the constructors' championship, where Renault (106) moved clear again of Haas (84) in fourth with a double points finish - boosted by Kevin Magnussen's disqualification.

WHO WON THE LAST MEXICAN GRAND PRIX?

Max Verstappen survived first-lap contact with Vettel to take Red Bull's most dominant victory in the V6 Hybrid era, coming home nearly 20 seconds ahead of Bottas and nearly a minute up the road from third-place Raikkonen. Vettel also collided with Hamilton after tagging the Dutchman and could only recover to fourth in a race he needed to win to keep his title hopes alive. Hamilton cruised home in ninth - and celebrated his fourth world championship at the race's end - scenes likely to be repeated this week!

WHO HAS THE MOST WINS AT THE MEXICAN GRAND PRIX?

Given the races long stretches of inactivity, there is a vintage feel to the list of multiple winners, with Jim Clark, Alain Prost and Nigel Mansell the only drivers to have won more than once here - all have two wins apiece. There have been three different winners here in the three years since Mexico returned to the F1 calendar: Verstappen, Hamilton and Nico Rosberg.

WHAT IS THE LAP RECORD AT THE AUTODROMO HERMANOS RODRIGUEZ?

Vettel set both records last year, clocking an outright record of one minute 13.488 seconds in qualifying before a 1:18.785 in the race secured the official record.

WHAT IS THE WEATHER FORECAST FOR THE UNITED STATES GRAND PRIX?

Forecasts suggest that afternoon practice on Friday and the race could be hit by rain, potentialy giving teams a headache like the suffered at at COTA last week.

WHICH PIRELLI TYRES ARE AVAILABLE FOR THE UNITED STATES GRAND PRIX?

Pirelli will bring the supersoft, ultrasoft and hypersoft tyres to Mexico.

Related news

Comments (0)

    There are no comments yet.

Write a comment