When is the French Grand Prix? Qualifying, start time, most wins

Monday, 11 juny 2018, 07:30 , by Matthew Scott

The French Grand Prix returns to the Formula 1 calendar with a change of lead in the drivers' standings after Sebastian Vettel took over top spot from Lewis Hamilton with victory in Canada last time out. F1 has not raced in France since 2008, and we will head to a fresh venue, with the refurbished Circuit Paul Ricard replacing Magny-Cours as the new home of the sport in France.

WHEN IS THE FRENCH GRAND PRIX?

The French Grand Prix will be held on Sunday June 24 at the Circuit Paul Ricard in Le Castellet, near Marseille, in France.

On-track action begins with Friday's first practice session at 12:00 local time (11:00 BST, 06:00 ET), with the second session starting at 16:00 local time (15:00 BST, 10:00 ET)

The race will start at 16:10 local time (15:10 BST, 10:10 ET). Saturday's qualifying session starts at 16:00 local time (15:00 BST, 10:00 ET). The third practice session is on Saturday at 13:00 local time (12:00 BST, 07:00 ET).

 

WHO WON THE LAST FRENCH GRAND PRIX?

The event has not been held since 2008, when Felipe Massa took victory for Ferrari at Magny-Cours. Kimi Raikkonen and Jarno Trulli joined the then-Ferrari man on the podium, with Hamilton finishing in 10th - outside the points - for McLaren. Vettel and Fernando Alonso are the other two drivers in action that day that will return to France with F1 in 2018.

 

WHO LEADS THE F1 STANDINGS?

Victory in Canada was crucial for Vettel as it moves him back to the top of the standings, just a solitary point ahead of Hamilton - 121 to 120. Valtteri Bottas' second-place finish in Montreal moves him third ahead of Daniel Ricciardo. The Finn is two points ahead of the Australian, but still 35 adrift of Vettel. Mercedes remain atop the constructor's standings on 206 points, with Ferrari 17 further back. It is a 55-point journey to Red Bull in third, with Renault now pulling clear of McLaren in the best-of-the-rest race.

 

WHO HAS MOST WINS AT THE FRENCH GRAND PRIX?

Michael Schumacher's eight French Grand Prix wins is the record for a single drivers' greatest success at a single F1 event. All of the German great's triumphs came at Magny-Cours, though. Four of Alain Prost's six victories in his home event were at Paul Ricard, making him the circuit's most successful F1 driver. Alonso and Raikkonen have wins at Magny-Cours to their name also.

 

WHAT IS THE LAP RECORD AT THE CIRCUIT PAUL RICARD?

Keke Rosberg holds the lap record over the previously used track layout at Paul Ricard. The 2018 race, however, will use a layout that F1 has not used previously, ensuring a place in the record books for the weekend's best performers!

 

WHAT IS THE WEATHER FORECAST FOR THE FRENCH GRAND PRIX?

Bright sunshine is expected to greet everyone across the entire race weekend, with high humidity perhaps giving teams something to think about in terms of set-up and tyres.

 

WHICH PIRELLI TYRES ARE AVAILABLE FOR THE FRENCH GRAND PRIX?

Pirelli will bring the soft, supersoft and ultrasoft tyres to Paul Ricard.

 

Related news

Comments (0)

  • Ryan Townley
    More importantly when is ESPN going to show coverage and what of its 4 channels will it show and then switch channel the day before or during the events
  • Grant Townsend
    The pole record is the old layout... can't imagine the times these cars would be setting on that layout!
  • Lars Bråten
    Power to the Max! Flat-out racing weekend. Can't wait.
  • Robert DeCastro
    I really think Renault will do great here.
  • Scott Martino
    When is the Monaco Grand Prix most wins?
  • Darina Ivanova
  • Fatihhan Car
    Forza ferrari

Write a comment